contact us

Ka Long first local to win Hong Kong Open and his first Superseries title

Nov 28th, 2016

Hong Kong's Angus Ng Ka Long (Image Above) in the men's singles and Japan's Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda in the men's doubles wrote history in the USD350,000 Yonex Sunrise Hong Kong Open Superseries when the finals were played on Sunday.

The 22-year-old Ka Long became the first local player to win the Hong Kong Open while Kamura-Sonoda wrote their names in the history books as the first Japanese players to win a title in the tournament. No Japanese player has won any title in the Hong Kong Open.

Ranked No 14 in the world Ka Long defeated India's Sameer Verma (world 43) in three sets 21-14, 10-21, 21-11 in a 50-minute final at the Hong Kong Coliseum. Despite the defeat Verma can still walk tall for reaching his first Superseries final.

What more when Verma was promoted to the main draw after Indonesia's Jonathan Christie withdrew due to injury. It was a fairy tale run for the Indian national champion who had never gone beyond the second round in his previous Superseries tournaments. 

Kamura-Sonoda staged a remarkable performance against Denmark's fourth seeds Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen to take the title with a 21-19, 21-19 win in 47 minutes to write history and end a long wait.

Denmark's number three seeds Kamilla Rhytter Juhl and Christinna Pedersen took the women's doubles title with a 21-19, 21-10 win over China's Hunag Dongping-Li Yunhui in a 45 minute final.

Taiwan's Tai Tzu Ying, who is ranked world No 3 in the latest BWF ranking list, regained the women's singles title she last won in 2014.  Tzu Ying defeated last week's China Open winner and Rio Olympics silver medallist Pv.V. Sindhu 21-15, 21-17.

It was also sweet revenge for the Taiwanese lass who was beaten by Sindhu in the Rio Olympics. Tzu Ying leads the head to head count 5-3.

Olympic champions Tontowi Ahmad-Liliyana Natsir added the Hong Kong Open mixed doubles title to their collection after winning last week's China Open Superseries Premier. 
In an all-Indonesia final the seventh seeds defeated second seeds and All-England champions Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto 21-19, 21-17 in 42 minutes.


Men's singles
Angus Ng Ka Long (Hkg) beat Sameer Verma (Ind) 21-14, 10-21, 21-11

Men's doubles
Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda (Jpn) beat Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen (Den) 21-19, 21-19

Women's singles

Tai Tzu Ying (Tpe) P.V. Sindhu (Ind) 21-15, 21-17

Women's doubles
Kamilla Rhytter Juhl-Christina Pedersen (Den) beat Huang Dongping-Li Yunhui (Chn) 21-19, 21-10

Mixed doubles
Tontowi Ahmad-Liliyana Natsir (Ina) beat Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto (Ina) 21-19, 21-17


Related Article