contact us

Indonesia and Malaysia share singles titles in India International Challenge

Dec 07th, 2016

(Credit Image :

Indonesia were big winners in the TATA Open India International Challenge 2016 which ended in Mumbai on Sunday.

The men's singles title went to Indonesia's Enzi Shafira ( Image above) who upset sixth seeded Malaysian Lim Chi Wing 7-11, 11-9, 11-7, 11-6 in a 57-minute final.

Malaysia's former national number one Soniia Cheah took the women's singles crown when she defeated home favourite Pardeshi Shreyanshi 11-3, 6-11, 11-6, 11-7 in 45 minutes.

It was her second international title for Soniia who won the Belgian International Challenge three months ago. The Uber Cupper is on the mend after undergoing surgery for Archlles tendon in 2013.

Indonesia also reigned supreme in the women's doubles and the mixed doubles giving the badminton powerhouse three of the five titles at stake in Mumbai.

In the women's doubles Mychelle Crhystine Bandaso-Serena Kani, the number three seeds, overcame compatriots Maretha Dea Giovani-Tania Oktaviani Kusumah in a five-set thriller 11-8, 8-11, 2-11, 11-9, 11-7 in 44 minutes.

The mixed doubles title also went Indonesia's way with Fachriza Abimanyu-Bunga Fitriani Romadhani coming off 11-5, 12-10, 4-11, 6-11, 11-8 winners over India's Vighnesh Deviekar-Kuhoo Garg.

India's only title came from the men's doubles with Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty notching a 10-12, 11-9, 11-7, 11-5 win over M.R. Arjun-Ramchandran Shiok in an all-India final.

RESULTS (All Finals)

Men's singles
Enzi Shafira (Ina) beat Lim Chi Wing (Mas) 7-11, 11-9, 11-7, 11-6

Men's doubles
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty (Ind) beat M. R. Arjun-Ramchandran Shiok (Ind) 10-12, 11-9, 11-7, 11-5

Women's singles
Soniia Cheah (Mas) beat Pardeshi Shreyanshi (Ind) 11-3, 6-11, 11-6, 11-7

Women's doubles
Mychelle Crhystine Bandaso-Serena Kani (Ina) beat Maretha Dea Giovani-Tania Oktaviani Kusumah (Ina) 11-8, 8-11, 2-11, 11-9, 11-7

Mixed doubles
Fachriza Abimanyu-Bunga Fitriani Romadhani (Ina) beat Vighnesh Deviekar-Kuhoo Garg (Ind) 11-5, 12-10, 4-11, 6-11, 11-8


Related Article